Drunk Driving Accidents Lawyers Las Vegas
Shook & Stone - Nevada Drunk Driving Injury Attorneys
Injury Caused By Drunk Drivers in Las Vegas
At Shook & Stone, we aggressively pursue compensation for those who have been hit my a drunk driver. Drunk driving accidents can cause permanent, life-long injuries.
If someone you love was injured in a Las Vegas drunk driving accident, call our auto accident attorneys today to discuss your legal options at (702) 570-0000 for a free consultation. All personal injury cases are handled on a contingency fee, which means you pay nothing unless we win.
What Types of Compensation will I Receive?
Medical expenses that result from an accident can be extremely expensive.)Your medical bills will likely be in the hundreds of thousands of dollars, and these expenses alone could exceed what you would receive in compensatory damages for your injuries. If the drunk driver who injured you was uninsured or underinsured, you can turn to us for help.
Our firm has wide-ranging resources and the ability to pursue full compensation on your behalf. A drunk driver who hits a pedestrian often leaves him or her with massive medical bills that require thousands of dollars in payments every month.
If after an accident from a drink driving accident you are left with questions, many auto insurance claim adjusters will attempt to rush you into making a quick decision.
Punitive Damages from being Injured by a Drunk Driver
It is important to keep in mind that drunk driving accidents are not accidents at all. They are the result of a person’s deliberate decision to drink and drive. Such actions can be punished with both criminal charges and civil penalties such as punitive damages, which may be assessed against the driver who injured you.
What do I do if a Nevada Drunk Driver Hit Me?
Have you recently been involved in an automobile accident that resulted in serious injury with a drunk driver?
When you are hit by a drunk driver in Nevada, it’s important to know what to do immediately. The first thing you should do is call 911 and report the car that has hit you. The police will probably want to take a statement from you as well. If possible, they may also want you to wait next to your vehicle for them to arrive.
This way they can take your statement, as well as collect evidence from the scene of the accident.
It’s also a good idea to gather relevant information about the other driver and his or her vehicle, such as their name, address, insurance carrier and policy number. This could be vital information if a lawsuit becomes necessary.
Nevada Statistics on Drunk Driving (DUI / OWI) Accidents
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention conducted research on the number of Americans killed in motor vehicle accidents involving drunk driving in 2012.
The CDC found that 10,322 people were killed due to drunk driving crashes. This accounts for 31 percent of all traffic deaths in America.
There are some interesting statistics relating to Nevada drunk driving accident injuries, however. According to the Nevada Highway Patrol’s 2013 statistics on drunk driving accidents, Nevada ranked in at number four for the total number of alcohol-related traffic deaths per 100,000 people (this was out of all 50 states and Washington D.C.).
This statistic accounted for 1.11 percent of all traffic deaths in the state that year. In comparison, the national average of alcohol-related traffic fatalities was .65 percent.
According to the CDC’s research, nearly one third (30%) of all drivers involved in fatal car accidents had at least one alcoholic drink within two hours of driving.
This means that if you were hit by a drunk driver on your way home from work or school, he or she may have been under the influence of alcohol.
Although it’s important to know that Nevada has a high rate of alcohol-related traffic deaths, this information is also helpful to people who are trying to understand why the state is so strict on drunk driving laws.
According to statistics from the Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) organization , there were over 38,000 DUI arrests in Nevada in 2013. This accounted for nearly 64 percent of all traffic arrests that year.
There are several theories as to why Nevada has such strict laws on drunk driving. One stands out as being particularly plausible: the state has some of the highest per-capita income in the country, as well as a high population.
This means that people drive more often and are exposed to greater risk of being involved in a drunk driving accident. Additionally, although Las Vegas has one of the highest arrest rates for DUI offenses, it also ranks #1 on many “Best Places to Live” lists.
If you have been hit by a drunk driver in Nevada or any other state, call our auto accident attorneys to discuss your legal options at (702) 570-0000 for a free consultation. All personal injury cases are handled on a contingency fee basis.
This means that we only get paid for taking your case if we win.
Drunk driving accident statistics are important, but they only tell part of the story. The most important thing to know is how to react if you have been hit by a drunk driver in Nevada.
If you sustained serious injuries, make sure you contact an experienced Las Vegas personal injury attorneys at once . We’ll be able to help you navigate through the confusing legal process and fight for your rights in court.
How Long Do I Have to File a Personal Injury Case?
In Nevada, the statute of limitations for personal injury is two years. This means that you have two years from the date of the injury to file a lawsuit. If you don’t file within this time frame, your case will likely be dismissed.
How Can a Drunk Driver Accident Attorney Help?
Insurance claims and lawsuits are relatively complicated, even without the added complication of a drunk driving accident. In the case of personal injury law , this is especially true because two insurance companies have to work together to compensate you for your injuries.
For example, if a drunk driver crashed into you on the freeway, his or her auto insurer would pay out a claim to your own auto insurer for the damages they had to pay out.
Drunk driving is illegal and the driver is subject to the full penalty of the law. The penalties for driving under the influence in Nevada include:
1st offense – Imprisonment for not more than 6 months and a fine of $600 to $1000, or both
2nd offense- Imprisonment for not less than 30 days nor more than 1 year and a fine of $1000 to $2000, or both
3rd and subsequent offenses – Imprisonment for not less than 1 year nor more than 4 years and a fine of $2,000 to $5,000, or both. There is an additional penalty of not less than 60 days in jail if the offender was transporting a person who is less than 16 years old.
The penalties for a DUI can vary depending on the circumstances of the offense. For example, an offender may be charged with driving under the influence while carrying a child who is 15 years or younger. If this is the case, he or she will face double penalties in Nevada.
Types of Injuries Suffered from Being Hit by a Drunk Driver
Treatment of Drunk Driving Accidents in Nevada
The most important thing you can do if you have been hit by a drunk driver is to seek medical treatment for your injuries. Because most car accidents only result in minor injuries, this may not seem very urgent. However, you should know that:
You might not realize the extent of your injuries until a few days or weeks after the accident.
The drunk driver’s health insurance will not pay for your medical expenses. They are solely responsible for paying their own damages and any additional expense you have to cover.
Injured victims in Nevada cannot collect payment from the drunk driver on their own. The victim has to file an auto injury lawsuit against the drunk driver to be able to get compensation.
In the event that you have suffered serious injuries from a collision with a drunk driver in Nevada, you should call our auto accident attorneys at once. We’ll provide you with the representation you need and deserve for your injuries .
How Can I Prevent Being Hit by a Drunk Driver?
The best way to protect yourself from a drunk driver is to drive responsibly. Make sure you:
Avoid driving on freeways or in areas with high levels of drunk driving. If you do find yourself in an area where drunk drivers often operate their vehicles, drive slowly and carefully to avoid accidents. If you know it’s bar close be extra cautious and aware of your surroundings.
With that said it is the drunk drivers fault for illegally driving while intoxicated.
If you have questions about how personal injury law works and what it means for you in regards to drunk driving, call us at (702) 500-0000.
We’ll be happy to answer all of your questions and give you a free consultation with one of our experienced drunk driving accident injury attorneys.
What Our Clients Say
Visit Our Office in Southwest Las Vegas
Shook & Stone
9455 W Russell Rd Suite 100
Las Vegas, NV 89148