Personal Injury Frequently Asked Questions
Personal Injury Frequently Asked Questions

In most situations, the personal injury lawyer will receive 33% of the total amount awarded in a case. However, litigation-based cases generally have additional costs. The goal of this fee structure is to limit the client’s financial risk in bringing an attorney on board.

Most personal injury settlements are paid out in a lump sum payment. This means that the injured party will receive all of the money at once, and they will be responsible for any outstanding medical bills or other expenses related to the accident. There are some exceptions to this rule, however, and some personal injury settlements may be paid out in installments.

The IRS cannot take your personal injury settlement directly. However, if you have outstanding taxes owed, the IRS can put a lien on your settlement proceeds, which means that you will have to use the money to pay off your tax debt.

There is no upfront cost for a personal injury attorney. We work on a contingency fee basis. We only charge when we win.

A contingency fee is a percentage of the case settlement or court award. Typically it will be between 33% – 40% depending on the complexity and nature of the case.

The value of a personal injury settlement is calculated by taking into account a number of factors, including the severity of your injuries, the expected cost of your medical bills, the amount of time you will miss from work, and the pain and suffering you have endured.

A successful personal injury claim may allow to collect damages. At Shook & Stone, we maximize claims and awards for the following:

  • Medical Bills (Future and Past)
  • Lost Income
  • Pain and Suffering
  • Disfigurement
  • Loss of Consortium
  • Property Damage
  • Emotional Injury

When a party is found liable for damages in civil court, punitive damages maybe awarded. These types of penalties exist to punish the negligent party and warn others that they will be held responsible if something goes wrong through their negligence or intentional malice.

With three offices across the state of Nevada, our law firm is able to represent you in your personal injury case whether you live in North Las Vegas, Summerlin, Centennial Hills, Reno, Carson City, Elko, or any of the other cities in our amazing state.

Shook & Stone is a law firm that has been helping victims of personal injury cases since 1997. Personal injuries can happen anywhere, but Nevada residents are especially vulnerable to the negligence and intentional misconduct of others because they live in one of America’s most dangerous states for drivers.

Shook & Stone specializes in representing these people by focusing on their needs: justice through civil litigation and compensation from those who have wronged them with negligent or malicious intent.

At Shook & Stone, we help clients with a wide range of injury claims.

Nevada’s statute of limitations for personal injuries are two years from the date of the accident, and three years from the date when the harmful act or omission that caused damage occurred. Medical malpractice claims have a three-year statute of limitations.

  • Personal Injury: 2 years from the date of injury
  • Property Damage: 3 years from date of damage
  • Wrongful Death: 2 years from the date of death
  • Product Liability: 2 years from the date of injury
  • Medical Malpractice: 2 years from the date of injury or 3 years from the date of discovery, whichever is earlier.