If the accident was serious, you may not have had a choice in the matter. Often, an ambulance will show up at the scene to take those involved away in an ambulance just as a precaution. If you were not automatically taken to the hospital, it may be a good idea to do so. Having an approved doctor give you a medical evaluation can contribute to the total amount of compensation you are entitled to.
Every basic auto insurance policy will include some sort of bodily injury coverage. If you were not at fault for your accident, Nevada law requires the at-fault driver to carry a minimum of $15,000 bodily injury coverage per person. Your medical compensation would come out of this amount. In the event of a serious accident, $15,000 per person bodily injury and $30,000 per accident bodily injury may not be enough to cover medical costs.
Your car accident attorney could advise you on whether or not you should file a lawsuit. To avoid lawsuits, many drivers purchase more than the minimum required coverage. There is also something called personal injury protection (PIP). The state of Nevada does not require PIP. This type of insurance is “no fault” which means it payments do not necessitate proved fault.
You should not wait to visit the doctor after an accident. It is important that you do this as soon as possible for two reasons. For one, your physical wellbeing is important and medical treatment should never be delayed as this could worsen your condition. Second, medical reports are vital pieces of evidence for your claim. When the insurance company is determining how much to award you for bodily injury compensation, they will base their decision in part on your medical examination.
If you were injured in a car accident and the other driver either didn’t stop to render aid (hit-and-run) or they did not possess insurance/adequate insurance, talk to our firm as soon as possible. Shook & Stone’s car accident lawyers are experienced in this area, and can walk you through even the most complex auto insurance claims.