In Nevada, there are multiple types of insurance coverage, each with a different purpose. Because Nevada auto insurance laws can be unclear at times, we have broken down three major types of coverage offered in this state: liability, collision, and comprehensive.
Liability Insurance – This type of insurance is required by Nevada law. Every driver must possess at least the minimum coverage, which is $15k for bodily injury per person, $30k per accident for bodily injury, and $10k per accident for property damage. This form of insurance protects you in the event that you are the at-fault party in an accident, and goes toward compensating injuries and property damage to the other parties involved.
Collision Coverage – Since liability insurance protects other parties in the event that you cause an accident, drivers can purchase additional insurance coverage in order to protect themselves. Collision coverage provides money for accident-related damage to your vehicle (regardless of fault).
Comprehensive Coverage – This form of insurance protects you against theft or other non-accident damage to your vehicle. In addition to theft, this could include vandalism, falling/flying objects, or wind damage.
To learn more about insurance coverage that can protect your and your passengers in the event of an accident, visit our helpful FAQ page on Med Pay in Nevada.