No matter the severity, car crashes can be devastating. From dealing with
injuries to repairing vehicular damage, car wrecks can affect your entire
life. But if the other driver is
uninsured, the situation becomes even more of a headache. When you’re on the
road, there’s no way to guarantee that all drivers around you have
car insurance. In fact, according to the Insurance Research Council, on
average, 10.6 percent of Nevada drivers are uninsured. However, you can
take steps to protect yourself.
In July 2018, Nevada’s vehicle liability insurance minimums doubled,
marking the first major insurance coverage increase in over 30 years.
Nevada state law now requires that all drivers have a higher amount of
auto liability insurance, which protects only the other driver if you
are determined to be at fault in an accident. While this increase in minimum
coverage limits means higher available coverage in the event of a crash,
it also increases the risk that more drivers may choose to go without
insurance due to higher premiums.
Read on for a quick guide to Nevada’s motor vehicle insurance laws.
Liability insurance is Nevada’s minimum required car insurance coverage.
However, this type of insurance only covers the other driver if you were
determined to be at fault in the accident. It will not cover the insured
driver, his/her passengers, or damages, whether they are physical or vehicle-related.
As of July 1, 2018, Nevada drivers are required to have the following
levels of liability insurance coverage, also called 25/50/20:
- $25,000 minimum bodily injury coverage per person
- $50,000 minimum bodily injury coverage per accident
- $20,000 minimum property damage coverage per accident (this does not include
damage to the insured driver’s vehicle)
If an accident is especially severe, $20,000 may not be enough to cover
the damage that has been done to the other driver’s vehicle. If
you would like more than the minimum protection, you have the option of
purchasing additional coverage with higher limits.
As the name implies, this type of auto insurance protects you in the event
of a car accident, no matter who is determined to be at fault. Collision
auto insurance covers your vehicle if you hit—or are hit by—another
vehicle or object. Nevada does not require that drivers have collision
coverage, but it can come in handy during stressful situations.
Most people consider themselves good drivers—and while that may be
true, it doesn’t mean that they won’t be involved in a car
accident. Whether due to the driver’s own negligence or the negligence
of another driver, car accidents happen extremely frequently. Collision
insurance will cover repairs for any damage to your own vehicle, or even
compensation if your vehicle is totaled.
This type of auto insurance protects your vehicle against damage other
than car accidents or fender benders. It covers vehicle damage from theft,
vandalism, falling objects, and even bad weather.
Similar to Collision Coverage, Comprehensive Coverage is not required in
the state of Nevada. But no matter where you live, the risks of vehicle
damage can never be ruled out. If you decide to purchase both Comprehensive
and Collision Coverage, your vehicle will be fully protected against any
type of physical damage.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage (UM/UIM)
This type of auto insurance covers you if you are involved in a car accident
with a driver who is either uninsured or covered by only a small amount
of insurance. The State of Nevada does not require that drivers purchase
Uninsured Motorist Coverage, but considering the fact that 10.6 percent
of Nevada drivers are uninsured, it would be a wise investment for yourself
and your wallet. Nevada Insurance laws require that insurance companies
offer UM/UIM coverage at a level no less than $25,000 per claim and $50,000
Medical Payments Coverage (MedPay) –Need this written up in more detail.
Usage Based Insurance
As noted above, with the increase in coverage limits, premiums have now
increased. To help lower premiums, consumers may want to consider purchasing
Usage Based Insurance (UBI). UBI can help save money for those who use
public transportation or ride-sharing or who simply don’t drive
much. The National Association of Insurance Commissioners has launched
a new tool called
DriveCheck to help consumers determine if UBI may fit their driving habits. The DriveCheck
website will take you through a few quick questions about driving habits
while providing more information about how UBI works. At the end of your
visit on its site, DriveCheck will provide you with an assessment of whether
you will benefit from UBI.
If you are involved in a car accident with an uninsured driver and receive
physical injuries, this type of coverage makes sure you have the means
to pay for medical bills. Considering how stressful car accidents are,
uninsured motorist coverage could be the difference between getting the
health care you need and living with chronic pain.
In the short term, while going uninsured may be tempting, the truth is
that skipping out on car insurance is never a good idea. While it may
seem nice to pocket a little more money each month, you could cost yourself
a fortune in the long term.
Even a small fender bender can have disastrous financial consequences for
any driver, but especially for the uninsured. If you’re thinking
about investing in car insurance, make sure to do your research to find
the best prices and the best coverage. If you are not able to afford comprehensive,
collision, or uninsured motorist insurance, at the very least make sure
you are meeting Nevada’s minimum insurance requirements to protect
yourself from fines and fees.
Personal Injury Lawyers in Las Vegas
If you were involved in a
car accident with an
uninsured driver, contact a personal injury lawyer at Shook & Stone. With over 85 years
of combined legal experience, Shook & Stone’s
personal injury lawyers in Las Vegas have the expertise to help you get the compensation you deserve.
Contact us today for a free initial case evaluation or call us at (888) 662-2013.