Starting on October 1, 2011, Nevada drivers will face warnings if they are seen driving while making a phone call on a handheld cell phone or texting, according to a CBS News report. For the months of October, November, and December, drivers will face warnings for driving while talking on a handheld phone or texting. Starting January 1, 2012, drivers who fail to use a hands-free device or text while driving will face penalties ranging from $50 to $250. Specifically, a first-time offense will cost Nevada drivers $50, a second offense within seven years will result in a $100 fee, and a third offense will result in a fine of $250.
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), distracted driving contributed to 20 percent of all injury crashes in the year 2009 in the United States. The new hands-free law is important for Nevada because the NHTSA reports that 18 percent of all distracted-driving-related fatal crashes involve the use of a cell phone. Additionally, the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) reports that drivers who use hand-held devices are four times as likely to get into crashes serious enough to injure themselves.
Distracted driving is negligent driving. Victims of distracted drivers may pursue financial compensation for their injuries by filing a personal injury claim against the at-fault motorist. In addition to facing fines, distracted drivers can also be held financially liable for the injuries, damages, and losses caused.
The skilled Las Vegas personal injury lawyers at Shook & Stone help victims of distracted drivers get the compensation they need and rightfully deserve. If you or a loved one has been injured in a Las Vegas car accident, call our offices at (888) 662-2013 for a free consultation and comprehensive case evaluation.